PUT GOOD IN

During my lifelong love affair with food, it’s only recently that I’ve been very thoughtful about what I put into my body. Fruits and vegetables are good and blah, blah, blah, but it goes beyond that, at least for me. Upon eliminating gluten, wheat, yeast, dairy, and soy from my diet (for reasons too long to explain in this post. Google it.), I’ve realized the plight of many human sufferings are directly associated with our food. Delicious, delicious food.

I could get into how all we do is cram our faces with Big Macs and wash it all down with 64 ounce Cokes, but there are only so many times you can see a vegan puking it up or hearing about the FDA’s acceptable levels of poop in our meat without getting annoyed/disgusted. I’m not here to talk about bodily evacuations (both human and animal), I’m here to lament on the fact that we constantly consume food that has been injected, sprayed, and overall mishandled, develop diseases, and, ultimately, medicate until we croak, without a second thought. We’re at the point where we accept that we can/will develop diseases without questioning how or why we got them.

I can deal with the fact that people are going to eat whatever they want. It’s a free country, God Bless America, and all that. What gets me is that people seem to think it’s ridiculous that the food they’re eating is making them sick. They don’t want to have to change their diet or stop eating what they want (or deny altogether that it is the food causing the problem), but have no problem eating a pill full of chemicals and promises to cure what ails ye.

If you’re having trouble believing that what you put into your body can wreck it, take a stroll down to Disney World and see how many candidates for diabetes and/or congenital heart failure are drinking 32 ounces of Butter Beer.

Leave a Reply

